At Habitat for Humanity Grey Bruce, our Mission is to use our knowledge, skills, community relationships, volunteers and other resources to create and promote safe and affordable homeownership options with the aim to help families build strength, stability and independence.  We also operate 3 ReStore locations in Grey and Bruce County, which offer a variety of rewarding retail positions.

Our Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is a group of dedicated community and business leaders who volunteer their time to act on behalf of the stakeholders (families, customers, and community partners) of Habitat Grey Bruce as a policy governance board. Their strategic decision-making and guidance steer the organization. Each Board member is deeply committed to tackling the issue of poverty housing in our community.

Deborah Haswell

A small business owner and former Mayor of the City of Owen Sound, Deborah joined the Board of Directors in 2015. She is currently a Commissioner with the Niagara Escarpment Commission and is active in local community initiatives. Deborah brings a wealth of regional and provincial government skills and expertise to Habitat Grey Bruce.

Vicki Watson CPA, CA

Victoria joined the Board in March 2018. She has worked with BDO Owen Sound for over 20 years and is currently an Audit Senior Manager with the firm. Her experience includes serving upper and lower tier municipalities, First Nations, and not-for-profit organizations. Victoria is actively involved in many community initiatives.

Dave Gross

Prior to joining the Board in 2015, Dave was actively involved in several Habitat Builds. Recently retired, Dave was the owner of the Hanover Home Hardware & Building Centre for 20 years. His extensive retail experience and expertise is a valuable asset to our ReStore operations. Dave currently serves as Secretary of the Board.

Bill Beatty
Vice Chair

Bill Beatty retired in 2008 after a 34 year career with the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) where he held various senior positions within CMHC’s Ontario Region. Over the past 11 years Bill has served on the Board of Interfaith Homes, a private not for profit housing provider and has been a member of the Rotary Club of Meaford since 2015. He joined the Board in 2016.

Carol Rencheck

Carol joined the Board in 2017 shortly after moving to Bruce County from the United States where she was the Volunteer Coordinator for a Habitat affiliate in Ohio. Along with her involvement with Habitat, Carol also volunteers with Huron Shores Hospice, The Saugeen Rail Trail Association and reading with the students at the elementary school in Port Elgin.

Terri Robertson

A life-long resident of Grey County, Terri is the Director of Government, Energy, and Custom Accounts in the Business Development division at MPAC and is an Associate Member of the Institute of Municipal Assessors. She brings a strong business acumen to the Board as well as experience in strategic planning, property valuation, and public and private sector engagement. Terri joined the Board in 2016 and Chairs our Governance Committee.

Steve Dickie

Steve has been involved in real estate sales since 2005 and most recently has been the Broker/Manager of the Royal LePage RCR Realty offices in Wiarton, Hanover and Owen Sound.  Steve first got involved with Habitat for Humanity Grey Bruce in 2009 when homes were being built in Wiarton and has been a frequent volunteer ever since.  Steve also has prior board experience as a long-time member of the Realtors Association of Grey Bruce Owen Sound.

Andrew Drury

Andrew served as a volunteer with a number of local charities over the years and is excited to be a part of Habitat for Humanity Grey Bruce.  As a lawyer he is aware of the obstacles and expenses that make it difficult for people to own their own home, and what it means when they achieve that goal.

Mike Kelly

Mike joined the Board in 2020. He is retired having worked 33 years as a Professional Engineer with the Ministry of Transportation and Grey County. He enjoys being with people and volunteering.

Our Management Team

Greg Fryer

Executive Director

John E. McLachlan

Resource Manager

Rachelle MacKenzie

Business Manager

Jim Lawson

ReStore Manager

Matt Bryan

Construction Manager